cycling news / Best young rider Leyder finishes Skoda Tour in third

Today the Skoda Tour de Luxembourg has ended with a 176 kilometers long stage from Mersch to Luxembourg. On the final steep meters of the Pabeierbierg, Pit Leyder showed again his great potential, whilst Alexander Krieger secured a top five overall finish.

Luxembourgish Continental Team places two riders in top five of the GC

Leopard Pro Cycling went with a clear plan into the final stage of the Skoda Tour: fight to maintain or improve the already great positions. At 11h30, the team started with two leaders jerseys – points and best young rider – in Mersch, where the peloton rode a neutralized local lap before the official start was given. Some dangerous attacks took place, first a duo went away, later it was a group of six riders that went clear. The break never got more than 20 seconds advantage and on the ascent of the  Schlindermanderscheid, the peloton brought all back together. At about 75 kilometers into the final stage, a new front group of six formed itself and this time the peloton approved the move. The lead grew to over three minutes before Wanty-Groupe Gobert of race leader Pasqualon took control.

As the race approached the local final circuit on and around the difficult Pabeiersbierg, the lead shrank continuosly. Despite some attacks in the late final, the favorites were going to battle for the victory in the final stretch of the Skoda Tour. Pit Leyder, Andrea Pasqualon and Eduard Prades fought side by side before they were overuled by a late jump of stage winner Anthony Perez.  Just behind these four leaders, Alexander Krieger also had a stunning performance, finishing in eight. Thanks to these great efforts, Pit Leyder moved up to third overall, which also meant the win in the young riders classification. Alexander Krieger – who had an awesome race all week long – finishes the race in fifth overall. All in all, a performance where the entire Leopard Pro Cycling team can be proud of.

Result Stage 4 | Mersch – Luxembourg (176 km)
4. Pit Leyder (LUX) s.t.
9.  Alexander Krieger (GER) + 0’04”
23. Szymon Rekita (POL) + 0’35”
51. Jan Brockhoff (GER) + 4’32”
57. Jens Reynders (BEL) + 4’44”
60. Gaëtan Pons (LUX) + 4’51”

Final General Classification
3. Pit Leyder (LUX) + 0’29”
5. Alexander Krieger (GER) + 0’31”
21. Szymon Rekita (POL) + 1’42”
59. Jan Brockhoff (GER) + 12’52”
72. Jens Reynders (BEL) + 18’22”
81. Gaëtan Pons (LUX) + 27’11”