tcr / Championship leader Vernay finds teammate Huff at the Salzburgring

The TCR International Series arrives in Austria for the rounds of 9/10 of the 2017 season: Jean-Karl Vernay returns with the lead on the circuit where he won last year. The Frenchman will count on Rob Huff’s support when he returns.

The TCR International Series returns to the Salzburgring, built in 1968 in a narrow alpine valley and boasting some truly formidable sections: from 1971 to 1994 it was home to the Austrian Motorcycling Championship and hosts the TCR International Series for a third time.

Last year saw rain flood the track during the second race; Jean-Karl Vernay making fewer mistakes than anybody else and almost literally surfing to victory. Set up will be important at the Salzburgring, especially with high front-left wear. It is also important to avoid a pile-up at the first chicane and avoid high-speed contact, potentially resulting in massive damage to the cars.

The previous event in Monza gave Roberto Colciago and Stefano Comini the opportunity to close the gap to Jean-Karl Vernay, who jumped to the top of the standings at the series’ third round, Race 1 in Bahrain. But both rivals will carry ‘Success Ballast’ during this Austrian weekend, limiting their abilities slightly.

Rob Huff was forced to skip the previous event in Monza. The Briton had already committed to race at the WTCC event at the Hungaroring; In Austria he will rejoin the TCR International Series for the rest of the season as Jean-Karl Vernay’s teammate at the wheel of a Leopard Racing Volkswagen Golf GTI car.

Track activity will be concentrated between Saturday and Sunday, with two Practice sessions and the Qualifying on Saturday, and the two races on Sunday.


Salzburgring, 4.24 km (Local Time, GMT +2):

Saturday, June 10th:
10:00-10:30 – FP1
12:00-12:30 – FP2
15:00-15:35 – Q1 / Q2

Sunday, June 11th:
11:05 – Race 1 (15 laps)
14:35 – Race 2 (15 laps)


2017 Drivers’ Classification

1 – J.K. Vernay 113 points
2 – R. Colciago 97 p.
3 – S. Comini 95 p.
4 – A. Tassi 76 p.
5 – P. Oriola 66 p.
6 – D. Borković 53 p.
7 – D. Kajaia 53 p.
8 – F. Vervish 52 p.
9 – J. Nash 50 p.
10 – H. Valente 46 p.


2017 Teams’ Classification

1 – M1RA 175 points
2 – Comtoyou Racing 151 p.
3 – Lukoil Craft-Bamboo 148 p.
4 – Leopard Racing WRT 140
5 – GE-Force 106 p.