tcr / Down to the wire in Dubai

The last round of the year in Dubai has a lot on the cards for the TCR International Series.

The Dubai Autodrome is ready for the grand final of the 2017 TCR International Series, with the Drivers’, Teams’ and Model of the Year titles all still to be decided. For the first time in its history, the International Series will visit the Emirates’ circuit in Dubai. The race weekend will take place on Friday and Saturday, as is tradition in the area.

Leopard Racing’s Jean-Karl Vernay remains in the fight for the Drivers’ Championship, having made the most out of the previous event in China and taken the lead in the standings back with a 29-point advantage over Attila Tassi. Two other drivers are still in contention: the 2015 and 2016 champion Stefano Comini (Comtoyou Racing) and Tassi’s teammate Roberto Colciago. But their disadvantage, over 40 points each, will make it a serious uphill battle for them. Vernay remains cautious as with 55 points on offer, anything can happen. The battle for the Model of the Year award is even closer, with the Honda Civic currently followed by the Volkswagen Golf GTI with a gap of only 30 points (and 95 at stake).

Triple British Touring Car champion Gordon Shedden will join the Leopard Racing WRT Team for the last TCR International Series event in Dubai, where he will drive one of the team’s Volkswagen Golf GTI cars alongside Jean-Karl Vernay. Shedden will replace Rob Huff, who is unavailable due to a clashing commitment, and his mission will be to help Vernay in his attempt to secure the Drivers’ title. The 38-year-old from Edinburgh has established himself as one of the most successful BTCC drivers ever, with 48 race wins in twelve seasons and three titles in 2012, 2015 and 2016, becoming the third Scotsman to win the championship after Jim Clark and John Cleland. Shedden also finished second twice (2011 and 2013) and third three times (2007, 2010 and 2014) in the championship.

The TCR International Series will follow its standard timetable, with two Free Practice sessions and the Qualifying on Friday, while the two 60-kilometre races will take place on Saturday.


Dubai Autodrome – 3.59 km (local time, GMT +4)

Friday, November 17th
09:30 – Free Practice 1
11:50 – Free Practice 2
15:30 – Qualifying (Q1 + Q2)

Grids: determined by Qualifying results (Q1+Q2) with top-10 reversed for Race 2

Saturday, November 18th
11:05 – Race 1 (17 laps)
15:30 – Race 2 (17 laps)



Drivers’ Classification

1 – J.K. Vernay 207 p.
2 – A. Tassi 186 p.
3 – S. Comini 165 p.
4 – R. Colciago 161 p.
5 – P. Oriola 137 p.
6 – J. Nash 115 p.
7 – Morbidelli 113 p.
8 – D. Borković 108 p.
9 – R. Huff 106 p.

Teams’ Classification

1 – M1RA 405 p.
2 – Lukoil Craft-Bamboo 336 p.
3 – Leopard Racing WRT 325 p.
4 – Comtoyou Racing 246 p.
5 – GE-Force 183 p.