cycling news / Fifth for Krieger, leads points classification

The first stage of the Skoda Tour de Luxembourg has resulted in a mass sprint finish in Hesperange. Here, Christophe Laporte took the win, Leopard Pro Cycling’s Alexander Krieger finished in fifth.

Krieger stays second in overall, retains the points jersey

After yesterdays prologue, the riders went back to Luxembourg City to start the first stage of the Skoda Tour de Luxembourg. After the official start in front of the team hotel, the  race headed towards the border with Germany for 60 more or less easier kilometers.  It did not take long before the break of the day went away. Despite several attempts of Jens Reynders, four riders without any Leopard outfit in it went away. The leading quarter build a lead that went up to over five minutes, but it was the peloton with Direct Energie and Cofidis in front that had all under control.

In the last local lap three leaders were caught back by the peloton, but it was Jan-Willem van Schip who still had something in his locker. Finally, on the last ascent in Syren, also the Dutchmen was reeled in by the bunch. Some smaller attacks took place in the descent to the line in Hesperange, but no-one could avoid a mass sprint finish, despite a late crash with about 1,5 kilometers to go. Alexander Krieger was the first Leopard Pro Cycling rider to cross the line as he sprinted to fifth position. By doing so, the German became leader in the points classification of which he will wear the jersey for the second time in a row tomorrow.

Tomorrow the Skoda Tour de Luxembourg continues with a 169,8 kilometers long stage between Rosport and Schifflang where the race will most probably be decided on a 440 meter long uphill section with an average gradient of 13% and a maximum slope of 18%.

Result Stage 1 | Luxembourg – Hesperange (186,7 km)
5. Alexander Krieger (GER) s.t.
37. Jens Reynders (BEL) s.t.
40. Pit Leyder (LUX) s.t.
42. Szymon Rekita (POL) s.t.
46. Jan Brockhoff (GER) s.t.
50. Gaëtan Pons (LUX) s.t.
97. Mario Spengler (SUI) + 3’50”

GC after stage 1
2. Alexander Krieger (GER) + 0’01”
16. Gaëtan Pons (LUX) + 0’11”
19. Pit Leyder (LUX) + 0’12”
26. Szymon Rekita (POL) + 0’15”
32. Jan Brockhoff (GER) + 0’16”
60. Jens Reynders (BEL) + 0’22”
99. Mario Spengler (SUI) + 4’27”