calendar-results-moto3 / Michelin Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix


Length 4.4km
Corner 7L-5R
Longest straight 900m

World championship standing

Pos Name Pts
1. MIR  296
2. Fenati 226
3. Canet 184
5. Martin 151
13. LOI 67

Phillip Island, the self-styled home of Australian motorsport, is steeped in motor racing tradition, with the first car races having been held there on public roads in the 1920s. The first motorcycle races took place in 1931 and a permanent track was built in 1956. The circuit fell into disrepair during the late 70s and early 80s until it was bought in 1985 and given a AUS $5m facelift. MotoGP returned in 1989 and 1990 before becoming a regular fixture once more from 1997 onwards.

The Phillip Island circuit is blessed with breathtaking scenery and beautiful ocean views and, as one of the fastest, most fluid, tracks on the calendar, it continues to provide some of the most spectacular racing in the MotoGP season.

Australia Qualifying classification

Pos Name Time
1. Martin 1’37.030
2. Rodrigo 1’37.248
3. MIR 1’37.411
4. Guevara 1’37.544
5. Fenati 1’37.680
21.  LOI  1’38.386

Australia Race classification

Pos Name Gap
1. MIR 23 Laps
2. LOI +0.351
3. Martin +0.359
4. Rodrigo +0.388
5. Bastianini +0.408
6.  Fenati +0.808