tcr / TCR International Series set to debut in Hungary

The Leopard Racing WRT team is working hard to make up for the damage sustained last weekend at the Salzburgring.

Built in 1986 near the village of Mogyoród, the Hungarian circuit hosted the first Formula One Grand Prix and since then the Hungarian GP has always taken place there. Twice the layout has been modified, first in 1989 to remove the chicane after Turn 3 and then again in 2003, when the pit straight was extended and Turns 1 and 14 were modified.

It proved be a difficult weekend in Austria for Leopard Racing, both Rob Huff and Jean-Karl Vernay sustaining heavy crashes during Race 1, a worrying time for the team as both incidents happened just moments apart.

Vernay’s Volkswagen Golf was damaged heavily, the team working around the clock to rebuild the VW machine. The and the team is currently working rebuilding it in a temporary workshop near Budapest, unable to return to the team’s home base between rounds.

Huff’s Golf was destroyed and as a result a brand new car has been dispatched from SEAT Motorsport in Martorell, Barcelona. The car is set to arrive on Wednesday evening, giving the other half of the Leopard Racing garage just over a day to complete and check everything before the first free practice.

Jean-Karl Vernay also suffered at the hands of Turn 9 last weekend, although his incident was far less disastrous than Huff’s and several others. However, when the Frenchman’s Volkswagen Golf GTI went o, it not only sidelined him for the off in Race 2, it also cost him the lead in the drivers’ championship he had held since Bahrain. Now it’s time to fight back.

Track activity will begin on Friday, with the first Free Practice session. The second Practice will take place on Saturday morning, with Qualifying in the afternoon. Sunday will be the race day, with Race 1 in the early morning and Race 2 at lunch time.

Hungaroring – 4.38 km (Local Time, GMT +2)

Friday, June 16th
15:15 – FP1

Saturday, June 17th
12:15 – FP2
16:50 – Qualifying (Q1 + Q2)

Sunday, June 18th
09:10 – Race 1 (14 Laps)
13:00 – Race 2 (14 Laps)


Drivers’ Classification

1 – S. Comini 125 p.
2 – R. Colciago 122 p.
3 – J.K. Vernay 113 p.
4 – A. Tassi 98 p.
5 – D. Borković 82 p.
6 – P. Oriola 79 p.
7 – J. Nash 66 p.
8 – D. Kajaia 59 p.
9 – F. Vervisch 53 p.
10 – H. Valente 46 p.
14 – R. Huff 27 p.

Teams’ Classification

1 – M1RA 222 p.
2 – Lukoil Craft-Bamboo 183 p.
3 – Comtoyou Racing 182 p.
4 – GE-Force 141 p.
5 – Leopard Racing WRT 140 p.