tcr / Vernay heads to Monza, Jaap Van Lagen his teammate for the Italian round

The Frenchman, leader of the 2017 TCR International Series, arrives in Monza after his superb victory at Spa-Francorchamps. The Leopard Racing WRT are aiming for another double with Dutchman Jaap Van Lagen replacing Huff for this round.

The TCR International Series has come alive in 2017, and a few days after the Spa-Francorchamps round, which saw the two Leopard Racing WRT Golf GTI triumph and feature prominently in Race2 thanks to the Vernay-Huff combination, is preparing to respond to the attacks of their opponents on the “Autodromo di Monza” circuit, for the 4th event that will be staged this weekend from May 13-14th.

Due to a previous commitment, the English driver, who was the author of a grand podium for his second race with Leopard, for this Italian round only will be replaced by the Dutchman Jaap Van Lagen, who will run with number 14: to the driver from Ede to help teammate Jean-Karl Vernay to consolidate his lead in the league.

Van Lagen comes from a small farming village in Holland and has had a keen interest in speed since his earliest days. His racing experience is broad, having raced in Formula Renault, World Touring Championship and a number of Endurance championships. Not only does he have huge experience in a variety of championships, but he can also boast a massive amount of knowledge in a variety of cars.


#14 – Jaap Van Lagen:
“I’m very much looking forward to my first TCR event ever at Monza! Especially because I’m joining a top team and I’ll be driving a competitive car. For me it’s a good opportunity to come back to Touring Car racing after a few years with LADA Sport. I hope I will be able to do a good job and score important points for the team!”


Autodromo di Monza (Local Time, GMT +2):

Friday, May 12th:
11:20-11:50 – FP1
13:35-14:25 – FP2

Saturday, May 13th:
10:45-11:20 – QP
14:30-15:00 – Race 1

Sunday, May 14th:
10:50-11:20 – Race 2


2017 Drivers’ Classification

1 – J.K. Vernay 91 points
2 – S. Comini 66 p.
3 – A. Tassi 53 p.
4 – D. Borković 51 p.
5 – R. Colciago 50 p.
6 – P. Oriola 47 p.
7 – D. Kajaia 45 p.
8 – H. Valente 38 p.
9 – J. Nash 38 p.
10 – Lessennes 31 p.
11 – F. Ficza 30 p.
12 – R. Huff 26 p.


2017 Teams’ Classification

1 – Leopard Racing WRT 118 points
2 – Lukoil Craft-Bamboo 109 p.
3 – M1RA 105 p.
4 – GE-Force 96 p.
5 – Comtoyou Racing 92 p.